Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Sep 1, 2011 01:36 PM EDT

Patriot Sprint Tour Regular Season Rounds Out Sunday at Eriez

Print this.

Rich Vleck, ROCHESTER, NY (August 29, 2011)- For the third season in a row, the Patriot Sprint Tour will conclude the regular season on Labor Day Weekend at Eriez Speedway, it will be the first time though that a driver other than Bryan Howland locks up the title.


Sunday Night’s race at Bobby and Kathy Rohrer’s facility in Northwest Pennsylvania will be the final full-points paying event in 2011.  Keeping with tradition, the winner Sunday will capture $2,011 for their effort. In the Patriots 11th appearance at Eriez, there is a very real chance that an 11th different driver will go to Victory Lane.


Sunday will also be the crowning race in the newly-named Bonnell’s Collision/ Fine Touch Collison King of the Western Swing.  Both of those titles see the same driver atop the standings. 


Jared Zimbardi, of Little Valley, NY, only needs to start the 25-lap A-Main to lock up his first career Patriot Sprint Tour Championship.  With three wins this season, Zimbardi has been the leader on tour all season, which he can put even more of a stranglehold on if he can secure the King of the Western Swing Crowd.  “The Juice” leads the mini series by 18 points and could add the title to the A-Verdi King of Upstate New York title he locked up at Black Rock.


Tim Kelly is the defending winner of the season-ender at Eriez.  Kelly has been salivating for another win and fresh off a solid run Saturday at Brockville is ready to get back to Victory Lane.


While Zimbardi has the title all but locked up, a number of other positions will be up for grabs on Sunday.  Brad Knab leads Scott Kreutter by just eight points for third spot.  Kreutter was the winner of the second feature held at Eriez in July.


The fifth spot is up for grabs between Steve Collins and Don Adamczyk.  Collins, who will lock up the Insinger Race Fuels Rookie of the Year Title, leads Adamczyk by just five points.


Bryan Howland and Mitch Brown will duke it out for seventh in points, as Brown races and plays hockey in Erie this weekend.  Shayne Ely and Jeff Frasier will sort out ninth and 10th in points.


Also expected this Sunday are Dave Wickham, Kyle Moffit, Todd Hoddick, Jay Groves, Bob Reis, Chris Shuttleworth, Craig Daniels, Dain Naida and Mark Zemcik among others.


Racing action gets underway at 5:30.  For more information be sure to visit or the Patriot pages of Twitter and Facebook on race night.



Patriot History at Eriez

Races: 10

5/25/2003        Scott Bonnell


6/17/2007        Jared Zimbardi

5/25/2008        John Schuyler

6/22/2008        Chuck Hebing

5/24/2009        Trevor Lewis

9/6/2009          Bryan Howland

5/30/2010        Bubba Broderick

9/5/2010          Tim Kelly

7/3/2011          George Suprick

7/3/2011          Scott Kreutter

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact