Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Aug 16, 2011 04:57 PM EDT

Patriot Sprint Tour Returns to Southern Ontario for Completion of Northern Summer Nationals

Print this.

Rich Vleck, ROCHESTER, NY (August 16, 2011)- As the 2011 season begins to wind down, focus for September’s Canadian Sprint Car Nationals is starting to mount.  This Weekend’s events should even further build that anticipation with a pair of events that will see the first driver secure a position in the $11,000-to-win A-Main.


The Patriot Sprint Tour (PST) will once again join forces with the Sprints on Dirt (SOD), the Southern Ontario Sprints (SOS) and Ohsweken’s Corr/Pak Sprint Division for the final two events of the Inaugural Northern Summer Nationals Series. 


On Friday Night, the series will invade the Ohsweken Speedway for a $2,000-to-wino event.  With rains washing out action at “The Big O” back in June, this will be the only opportunity for many teams to get a look at the new surface at the home of the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals.


Jared Zimbardi, of Little Valley, NY, was a winner at Glenn Styres’ facility back in the Spring and is coming off his biggest career win this past Friday in the A-Verdi Championship at Black Rock.  “The Juice” leads the PST points by a healthy margin and has the luxury of focusing on wins at this point.


Along with Zimbardi, Patriot mainstays Bryan Howland, Kyle Moffit and Mitch Brown each have a win at the 3/8-mile this season in Corr/Pak Competition, including Brown winning this past Friday.


After the action concludes on Friday Night, the teams will travel down the road to South Buxton for the second time this season.  The Northern Summer Nationals Series kicked off there back in June and will conclude there this Saturday, crowning a series champion and giving them assurance that they will start the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals A-Main.  In addition, the winner of Saturday’s A-Main will claim $3,000.


Keith Dempster claimed the win of the event back in June after Dustin Daggett’s wing did not conform to series rules.  Dempster leads the NSN points and if he can maintain the lead exiting this trip to South Buxton he will earn a trip into the CSCN A-Main for the second year in a row.  Keith’s car Owner Glenn Styres is just a point behind him though with Zimbardi and Howland just three points back, along with Warren Mahoney.


The PST only had four official representatives at the June South Buxton race, but each of them was a factor in the event.  Zimbardi finished in second, with Howland in fourth, but Tim Kelly and Don Adamczyk were each at the front of the pack early in the event until contact between one another relegated both to the infield for the remainder of the 25-lap feature.  In addition to those four, many other PST drivers are expected for the two-race weekend including the likes of Scott Kreutter, Steve Collins, Brad Knab, Shayne Ely and Vern Wasson.


For more information, visit and follow the action all weekend long on the PST pages on Facebook and Twitter.


Patriot History at Ohsweken:

Races: 16

9/25/2004- Rick Wilson

5/6/2005- Kyle Wilson

9/17/2005- Kenny Jacobs (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)

7/14/2006- Bryan Howland

9/16/2006- Steve Poirier (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)

7/6/2007- Bobby Breen

9/15/2007- Steve Poirier (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)

7/3/2008- Dustin Daggett (Northern Summer Nationals)

7/4/2008- Bryan Howland (Northern Summer Nationals)

9/27/2008- Wayne Johnson (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)

7/3/2009- Tom Huppunen (Northern Summer Nationals)

8/14/2009- Trevor Lewis

9/19/2009- Shane Stewart (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)

7/2/2010- Dustin Daggett (Northern Summer Nationals)

8/20/2010- Dustin Daggett

9/18/2010- Shane Stewart (Canadian Sprint Car Nationals)


Patriot History at South Buxton:

Races: 1

6/25/2011- Keith Dempster (Northern Summer Nationals)

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact