Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Jul 11, 2011 02:45 PM EDT

Patriot Sprint Tour Navigates North to Brockville and Cornwall This Weekend

Print this.

Rich Vleck, ROCHESTER, NY (July 11, 2011)- The series name has changed slightly over the last few seasons, but many of the traditional dates and weekend on the schedule continue to build the reputation in Eastern Ontario.


For the third year in a row, the Patriots will travel north on the third weekend in July to Brockville Ontario Speedway on Saturday and Cornwall Motor Speedway on Sunday for a pair of highly-anticipated events along the St. Lawrence River.  The events will kick off the Riverside Bar and Grill King of the St. Lawrence Series that will not be completed until the Fall Nationals at Brockville in October.


Jared Zimbardi, of Little Valley, NY, comes into the weekend with a solid point lead and could expand on that with Brockville being the site of his only two Patriot wins in 2010.  He will have plenty of top competition to deal with though if he wants to score his second PST win of 2011 this weekend.


Tim Kelly, of Rock Stream, NY, ran into bad luck in both regular season events at the “BOS” in 2010, but brought home his third-straight top-five finish at Cornwall last July.  He will look to at least retake command of second in points and look to reel Zimbardi back in.


Fresh of an impressive performance at Black Rock, Scott Kreutter, the most recent winner of a PST-only event will return to Eastern Ontario for the first time since his rookie year of 2007.


Other PST regulars expected to partake in the weekend include Southern Ontario’s Mitch Brown, Michigan’s Dain Naida plus Brad Knab, Steve Collins, Dave Wickham, Brandan Warner and Vern Wasson, who lead the early stages of last year’s Cornwall event.


Shayne Ely, the sophomore sprint shoe that won this Brockville event last year, will also be on hand but will have to thrash to get a car prepared after a wreck on Sunday Night.


Always a highlight at the Brockville and Cornwall events are the host of locals that get to compete in front of their friends, family and fans.  Since the first PST race at Brockville in 2004, this group has been lead by “The Joyceville Jet” Rick Wilson.  Rick, along with his popular daughter April, will make their first PST starts of the season, as will be the case for Devin Caron, Paul Pekkonen, Brian McDonald, Kyle Fraser, Doug Banks while Chris Jones runs with the Patriots once again this season.


The list of Canadians not from Eastern Ontario could be impressive.  In addition to Brown, drivers such as Glenn Styres, Keith Dempster, Jamie Collard, Dale Gosselin, Jake Langlois, Travis Cunningham and Brad Lodge have shown interest in this excited weekend.


When the action is over at Brockville, the teams will travel about an hour up the road to the beautiful Cornwall Motor Speedway.  Among the teams that are expected to join in on the Sunday Night event are Alain Bergeron and Steve Poirier of Quebec, the two drivers that have won PST events at Cornwall.  Michael Parent, Tyler Rand, Lee Ladouceur and others are expected to join in on Sunday.


Racing action gets underway at 7:00 P.M. Saturday Night at Brockville.  Don’t forget that it will once again be autograph night at the “BOS”.  Racing gets started at 6:00 P.M. on Sunday at Cornwall and teams should be able to hit the road at a convenient hour.


For more information visit and don’t forget to follow and/or all weekend for updates.


Patriot History at Brockville:

Races: 10

8/20/2004- Rick Wilson

10/22/2005- Kyle Drum

7/15/2006- Rick Wilson

6/2/2007- Jessica Zemken

7/18/2009- Bryan Howland

8/22/2009- Alain Bergeron

10/17/2009- Glenn Styres (Non-Points)

6/12/2010- Jared Zimbardi

7/17/2010- Shayne Ely

10/16/2010- Jared Zimbardi (Non-Points)


Patriot History at Cornwall:

Races: 2

7/19/2009- Alain Bergeron

7/18/2010- Steve Poirier

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact