Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Jun 13, 2011 03:33 PM EDT

Patriot Sprint Tour Makes Way to Merrittville Saturday

Print this.

Rich Vleck, ROCHESTER, NY (June 13, 2011)- The Patriot Sprint Tour event this Saturday at Merrittville Speedway is a welcomed sign for nearly every team that will be on hand this weekend.


Merrittville Speedway in Thorold, Ontario will play host to the only stand-alone Patriot Sprint Tour event this June.  The 3/8-mile D-shaped oval will be the meeting spot for PST regulars and lots of locals that are sure to combine for a spirited show.


Saturday’s event will be the third event of 2011 counting towards the Bonnell’s Collision/ Fine Touch Collision King of the Western Swing Series, however it will be the only stop of the mini series in Ontario. Speaking of Canada, this will be leg of the 2011 PST Canadian Campaign.


Merrittville has hosted two PST A-Mains in the past, with four-time series champion Bryan Howland of Auburn, NY scoring in the inaugural visit in 2006.  Scott Kreutter, of Alden, NY scored his only career A-Main win there the last time the series was there in 2009.  Aside from the pair of 24-year-olds being excited, a number of drivers that have nearly won there are also stoked.


Jared Zimbardi leads the PST point standings by nine markers and just wants to showcase the strength of his No. 35.  The Little Valley, NY driver was a winner at Ohsweken Friday in weekly competition, as well as the last PST-only A-main at Stateline.


Don Adamczyk and Tim Kelly are tied for second in the standings and have a solid history at Merrittville.  Adamczyk, of nearby Williamsville, NY, lead early in 2009 event and would love nothing more than to win at the track where his inspiration to switch to sprints was founded.  Tim Kelly, was second in that race and was also a winner at the facility back in 1993.


Vern Wasson and rookie Steve Collins and Mitch Brown are among some PST drivers that are expected to make their first start at the Bicknell-owned facility this weekend, while sophomore shoe Dave Wickham, Todd Hoddick, Brad Knab, Kyle Moffit and George Suprick are also expected to be on hand.


A slew of competitors from Southern Ontario should also be part of the festivities with Travis Cunningham and Mikey Kruchka among those looking to break through for their first career sprint win.  Glenn Styres, Keith Dempster, Dain Naida, Jamie Collard, Kevin Job, Dave Dykstra, Jim Huppunen, Tom Huppunen, John Burbridge, Tim Zack and Jim Porter among some of the elite names that could throw their name into the discussion Saturday.


Race teams that were on hand at last year’s rained-out show at Merrittville are reminded that their wristbands from that event can be redeemed at Saturday’s event if not already used.  Despite wristbands being honored, the Patriot show will start from scratch.  Teams should also keep in mind that Merrittville is known for their great crowds flocking into the pits after the races and may want hero cards if possible.


Pit gates will swing open at 5:30 P.M. with racing starting at 7:00 P.M.  For more information, visit or follow them on Facebook and Twitter.


Patriot History at Merrittville

Races: 2

6/24/2006- Bryan Howland

8/1/2009- Scott Kreutter

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact