Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Jul 25, 2016 12:05 PM EDT

George Suprick returns to Patriot Sprint Tour victory lane at Woodhull Raceway

Print this.

By Paul T. Harkenrider, PST Media

(Woodhull, NY) It has been a long time for Sprint Car veteran driver George Suprick as he led all 25 laps at Woodhull Raceway to pick up the Patriot Sprint Tour Event and his first win in a 360 Sprint car since 2012.

Suprick got himself into the top eight redraw and drew the one pill and would start alongside Jonathan Preston. The two drivers would bring the 22 car field to the green flag where they were side by side into the first set of corners and as they exited turn two, a spinning Jake Muench would bring out the first yellow that also collected Steve Glover and Derrick Juliano in the process.

The field was brought back to green as George Suprick began to pull away from the rest of the field in the opening laps from Preston, Dave Just, and Bryan Howland who was running in the fourth spot at the time.

It was then on lap eight that Chuck Hebing was trying to keep the car going after a spin and that collected Steve Glover and Scott Just in the process. Glover sustained a left rear flat tire and went to the work area and was able to get the tire and returned back to racing. Just was able to remain on the race track but Hebing’s night was complete.

Suprick once again would have another solid restart and was able to start to pull away as the battle between the top five would start heat up.

On lap 12, June 11 winner at Woodhull, Jared Zimbardi would begin to set his sights on the top three as he met third place runner at the time Jonathan Preston. Zimbardi would then get by the Preston car on lap but Preston would not let Zimbardi get too far from him.

Then on lap 17, Preston would go attempted to go down to the bottom of Zimbardi and made contact with Zimbardi’s left rear tire sending his car on its side after two flips to bring out the red flag. Preston was alert and was able to walk back to the pits. Zimbardi would have a left rear flat tire and would have to get the changed and would to return to the speedway and have to settle for a tenth place finish.

Suprick would then lead Dave Just and Bryan Howland back to the green flag as Howland was able to use the outside to get around Just and start to set his sights on the race leader in Suprick.

Another yellow was thrown from a spinning Tyler Graves in turn four which set up a one lap shootout between Suprick and Howland.

Suprick was able to hang on for one more lap after another restart and pick his first Patriot Sprint Tour win the season and his first since 2012 in a 360 Sprint Car. Dave Just who was running third was put off the pace and fell back a number of a positions on the final lap and would end up finishing 11th.

Howland would have to settle for yet another second place finish to his 2016 racing campaign and Darryl Ruggles complete the podium, followed by Geoff Quackenbush, and Steve Collins.

Suprick picked up the $50 racing bonus courtesy of Shuttleworth’s Seal Coat. Steve Doell started 21st on the grid and would end up with a seventh place finish to come with the Casey Truck Salvage ‘Salvage of the Night’ award worth $50. Derrick Juliano would also come home with the Stampede Steakhouse final finisher award.

The series now returns to the Ransomville Speedway for their second appearance of the 2016 season this coming Friday July 29 as we are getting closer to crowning our 2016 Patriot Sprint Tour American and Canadian Series champions.

Be sure to log onto and to follow us on all of our social media outlaets of facebook, twitter, and Instagram.


Patriot Sprint Tour- Woodhull Raceway Results

July 24, 2016

A Main: GEORGE SUPRICK (1), Bryan Howland, Darryl Ruggles, Geoff Quackenbush, Steve Collins, Sammy Reakes IV, Steve Doell, Derek Jonanthan, Dan Bennett, Jared Zimbardi, Dave Just, Dan Kuhn, Derrick Juliano, Tyler Graves, Josh Azzi, Jonathan Preston, Tyler Cochran, Steven Hutchinson Jr, Scott Just, Chuck Hebing, Steve Glover, Jake Muench

Heat 1: Bryan Howland, George Suprick, Steve Collins, Steve Glover, Darryl Ruggles, Dan Bennett, Steve Doell, Tyler Cochran

Heat 2: Chuck Hebing, Dave Just, Jake Muench, Geoff Quackenbush, Dan Kuhn, Derrick Juliano, Steven Hutchinson Jr

Heat 3: Jared Zimbardi, Sammy Reakes IV, Jonathan Preston, Derek Jonathan, Scott Just, Tyler Graves, Josh Azzi

ESE Dash: Jake Muench, Darryl Ruggles, Geoff Quackenbush, Derek Jonathan, Steve Glover, Dan Kuhn 

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact