Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Jul 5, 2016 10:27 AM EDT

Mark Smith Picks Up PST Win at Eriez Speedway; Kyle Drum Is Bonnellís Collision Center Western Weekend Championship

Print this.

(Hammett, PA) A packed grandstand at Eriez Speedway saw some of the 27 best 360 Sprint Car drivers in the region put on a show as Mark Smith finally picked up a win on the final night of Bonnell’s Collision Center Western Weekend with the A-Verdi Storage Containers Final finisher.

Davie Franek drew the one pill two nights in a row and started the 24 car field with outside pole-sitter Dennis Wagner. As the field was just about to complete its first lap, Wagner spun on his own to bring out the first yellow of the event and would have to start at the tail end of the field.

The field would reset as Franek was not going to let Kyle Drum use the high side as he immediately blocked him as they entered the corners. Five laps would go by and another caution that involved Dennis Wagner would end his night for causing the second yellow of the night. Current point leader, Jared Zimbardi sustained motor troubles and he would park his car on lap five and be done for the night.

Franek would lead the field again as Mark Smith began to make his presence known as he cracked himself into the top five on lap seven. Smith would begin to work with Kyle Drum, Jake Muench and Mitch Brown.

Franek would start to build a comfortable lead on the field until Mark Smith solidified himself as the second place runner as he set his sights on the race leader in Franek. The two would begin to battle for the race lead. Then on lap 18, Scott Just hit the safety tire and it appeared Smith got by Franek but the yellow was thrown before the next lap and Franek was still scored as the race leader.

Finally, on lap 20, Smith was able to scoot on by Franek and would lead the final five laps to score the win on the final night of Bonnell’s Collision Center Western Weekend. Franek would settle for second but it was Scott Kreutter who came alive late to get by Kyle Drum to take home third.

Kyle Drum was the most consistent all weekend having a fifth place finish at the Little Valley Speedway, a win at the Mercer Raceway Park and a fourth at Eriez which earned him the Western weekend series championship. Drum also took home a brand new 9000 Watt Champion Power Equipment Generator. Jimmy Stitzel, won the hard charger award and Scott Just won the Hard Luck, both received awards from Champion Power Equipment.

Darryl Ruggles had to take a provisional to get into the event and he did coming home with a 14th place finish, earning him the Casey Truck Salvage of the Night. Dave Just won the Stampede Steakhouse final finisher award.

The series will now take a week off for the first time since Memorial Day weekend, and then head North to the Brockville Ontario Speedway and the Cornwall Speedway on Saturday July 16 and Sunday July 17.

Please be sure to log onto and to follow us on social media on facebook, twitter and Instagram.

The Patriot Sprint Tour is a 360 Sprint Car Series that visits tracks in New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Ontario.


Patriot Sprint Tour Bonnell’s Western Weekend Night- Eriez Speedway

July 3, 2016

A Main: MARK SMITH (1), Davie Franek, Scott Kreutter, Kyle Drum, Mitch Brown, Jake Brown, Paulie Colagiovanni, Jake Muench, Dain Naida, Gary Edwards, Jimmy Stitzel, Steve Collins, Jack Sodemean Jr, Darryl Ruggles, Steve Glover, Scott Just, Derek Jonathan, Dan Bennett, Dalton Daniels, Sammy Reakes, Jared Zimbardi, Dennis Wagner, Dave Just, Paul Habeck

Heat 1: Jared Zimbardi, Davie Franek, Kyle Drum, Dennis Wagner, Paulie Colagiovanni, Dalton Daniels, Darryl Ruggles (DNF), Jack Sodeman Jr (DNF)

Heat 2: Mitch Brown, Gary Edwards, Dain Naida, Paul Habeck, Derek Jonathan, Sammy Reakes, Steve Glover, Dan Bennett, Derrick Juliano (DNS)

Heat 3: Scott Kreutter, Mark Smith, Jake Muench, Jake Brown, Steve Collins, Scott Just, Dave Just, Alex Hill

B Main (4 Qualify): Dave Just, Jimmy Stitzel, Steve Glover, Jack Sodeman Jr, Alex Hill, Darryl Ruggles, Dan Bennett, Joe Trenca (DNS)

ESE Dash: Dain Naida, Gary Edwards, Paulie Colagiovanni, Jake Brown, Sammy Reakes, Paul Habeck

Contingency Awards:

Shuttleworth’s Seals the Deal Bonus: Mark Smith

Stampede Steakhouse Final Finisher: Dave Just

Casey’s Truck Salvage of the Night: Darryl Ruggles

Bonnell’s Collision Center Western Weekend Swing Series Champion: Kyle Drum

Hard Charger Award: Jimmy Stitzel


Hard Luck Award: Scott Just 

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact