Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Jun 12, 2016 07:01 AM EDT

Jared Zimbardi Dominates Ohsweken Speedway for third straight year

Print this.

By Paul T. Harkenrider, PST Media 

(Ohsweken, ON) Jared Zimbardi rolled into the beautiful Ohsweken Speedway Friday evening and picked second race of 2016 with the Patriot Sprint Tour over Ohsweken weekly regulars Dylan Westbrook and Ryan Turner. This is Zimbardi’s third win of his career at the ‘Big O.’

Westbrook and Zimbardi would lead the 23 car starting field for 25 laps where Zimbardi would use the outside lane to take the early lead. Dane Lorenc, who started third would grab the second spot early and begin to challenge Zimbardi for the race lead but Westbrook would soon reclaim the runner up spot back on lap five.

Once Westbrook solidified himself as the second place runner, Kyle Fraser was parked on the bottom of turn two to bring out only caution of the race on lap six.

Zimbardi would pull away from Westbrook on the restart and lap traffic was not a factor until lap 12 where Westbrook would start regain the ground he lost from Zimbardi during the clean air laps. The lap traffic would not hurt Zimbardi as he weaved his way through the field, nor did it hurt Westbrook as he broke away from third place runner at the time Mitch Brown.

The best thing on the racetrack in the second half of the race was the three car battle between Ohsweken regulars; Mitch Brown, Ryan Turner and Jamie Turner. Ryan Turner would use an inside groove of the race track and by lap 21, he was scored as the third place runner.

Zimbardi still had about a one second advantage over second place runner Westbrook and the 2015 PST-Canadian Series champion cruised to pick up his second win of the 2016 season. Ryan Turner would complete the podium finish followed by Jamie Turner and Mitch Brown.

Picking up the Evingham Site Excavation Dash for cash was Lee Winger. Heat wins went to Dylan Westbrook, Mitch Brown, and Dane Lorenc. There was no B-Main and 23 cars started the event. Dain Naida was slated to start tenth on the grid but suffered motor damage during the Dash and would not start the A-Main.

The next PST-Canada Series event will be at the Brockville-Ontario Speedway on Saturday July 16, followed by Cornwall Speedway on Sunday July 17. The next Patriot Sprint Tour event will be tonight (June 11, 2016) at the Woodhull Raceway. Grandstand Gates will open at 4:30 with racing at 6:30. General Admission will be $18.00.

Be sure to ‘Like’ Patriot Sprint Tour on facebook, you can also follow @PatriotSprints on Instagram and Twitter. Log onto as well for updated news, schedule information and point standings.

The Patriot Sprint Tour is a 360 Sprint Car Series that travels to tracks in New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Ontario.

Patriot Sprint Tour Results- Ohsweken Speedway

June 10, 2016

Heat 1: Dylan Westbrook, Ryan Turner, Lee Winger, Jim Huppunen, Cory Turner, Shane Ross, Jake Brown, Pete Richardson

Heat 2: Mitch Brown, Dave Dykstra, Jamie Turner, Lee Ladoucer, Dain Naida, Steve Collins, Conor Mahoney, Dan Bennett

Heat 3: Dane Lorenc, Tyler Hendricks, Jared Zimbardi, Glenn Styres, Steve Lyons, Stan Zanchin, Kyle Fraser, John Burbridge

ESE Dash: Lee Winger, Dain Naida, Jim Huppunen, Lee Ladoucer, Glen Styres, Cory Turner

A Main (25 Laps): JARED ZIMBARDI (2), Dylan Westbrook, Ryan Turner, Jamie Turner, Mitch Brown, Glen Styres, Dave Dykstra, Shane Ross, Steve Collins, Pete Richardson, Tyler Hendricks, Dane Lorenc, Cory Turner, Jake Brown, Steve Lyons, Jim Huppunen, Conor Mahoney, Dan Bennett, Lee Winger, Kyle Fraser, Stan Zanchin, Lee Ladoucer, John Burbrdige 

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact