Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Jun 5, 2016 05:10 PM EDT

Danny Varin wins his first Patriot Sprint Tour Race of his career at Fulton Speedway

Print this.

By Paul T. Harkenrider, PST Media

(Fulton, NY) A strong showing of 30 Sprint Cars signed into the High Banks at Fulton Speedway as Danny Varin of Fonda, New York picked up his first Patriot Sprint Tour win over Larry Wight and Chuck Hebing.

Varin won his qualifying heat which ensured himself into the redraw where he drew the pole position. Varin and Daryl Ruggles would start the field but it was Larry Wight who used the high side lane take the lead from his fourth starting spot.

With laps ticking away, Wight would begin to pull away from Varin as third place runner Chuck Hebing would also become a threat as he started to challenge Varin for the second spot.

Then on lap 13, Paul Habeck, who had to use a provisional to get into the A-Main spun and came to a stop which brought the second yellow in the event.

On the next restart, Varin found a low racing line that began to work in his favor as he started to contest for the lead once again as another caution came out on lap 15 that involved Jordan Thomas in turn three.

Wight would lead Varin, Hebing, and Daryl Ruggles to the green but on lap 18, Varin made the bottom line of turn one work to his favor again and as they exited turn two, Varin was the new race leader.

Varin gained a comfortable advantage over Wight as they weaved their way through lap traffic for the next five laps until Steve Doell hit a safety tire in turn two that sent it onto the racing surface to bring out the fourth caution in the event on lap 23.

The two lap shootout was on between Varin and Wight but as the two raced to turns three and four for the final time, it was Danny Varin collecting his first Patriot Sprint Tour win of his career. Larry Wight would come home second followed by Chuck Hebing, Bryan Howland who started 14th in the event and Joe Trenca was able to get by Daryl Ruggles on the final lap to complete the top five.

With the win, Varin also picked an additional $50.00 as he won the Shuttleworth’s ‘Seals the Deal’ racing bonus.

Dane Lorenc did not complete his qualifying heat where he had to go the B-Main and start 11th. Lorenc ended up finishing fourth in the 10 lap last chance qualifier and would start 22nd. In the A-Main, Lorenc would finish 13th and pick up the Casey’s Truck Salvage ‘Salvage of the Night’ award. Steve Hutchinson was the final car to take the checkered flag and he would take home the Stampede Steakhouse Final Finisher award.

The Patriot Sprint Tour will have its second Canadian Show of the 2016 season as the series heads to Oshweken Speedway this Friday June 10. The following night will be a makeup show from May 14 at the Woodhull Raceway on Saturday, June 11.

Be sure to visit and to ‘Like’ Patriot Sprint Tour on facebook. You can also follow @PatriotSprints on Instagram and Twitter.

The Patriot Sprint Tour is a 360 Sprint Car Series that visits racetracks in New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio and Ontario.


Patriot Sprint Tour Results- Fulton Speedway

June 4, 2016

Presented by A-Verdi Storage Containers

Heat 1: Danny Varin, Mitch Brown, Mike Kiser, Jonathan Preston, Jordan Thomas, Nick Cooper, Pete Richardson, Kelly Hebing, James Hanson, Dane Lorenc

Heat 2: Joe Trenca, Chuck Hebing, Cory Sparks, Sammy Reakes, Josh Azzi, Steven Hutchinson, Tyler Graves, Zach Wiegand, Keith Gramholm, Paul Habeck

Heat 3: Larry Wight, Daryl Ruggles, Jared Zimbardi, Tommy Wickham, Bryan Howland, Steve Doell, Steve Glover, Dan Bennett, Dave Just, Dave Wickham

B Main: Steven Glover, Pete Richardson, Tyler Graves, Dane Lorenc, Paul Habeck, James Hanson, Zach Wiegand, Dan Bennett, Kelly Hebing, Dave Wickham, Keith Granholm, Dave Just

Evingham Site Excavation Dash: Sammy Reakes, Mike Kiser, Jordan Thomas, Tommy Wickham, Bryan Howland, Jared Zimbardi

A Main (25 Laps): DANNY VARIN (1), Larry Wight, Chuck Hebing, Bryan Howland, Joe Trenca, Darryl Ruggles, Sammy Reakes, Mitch Brown, Jordan Thomas, Jared Zimbardi, Tommy Wickham, Mike Kiser, Dane Lorenc, Pete Richardson, Jonathan Preston, Steve Doell, Steve Glover, Josh Azzi, Nick Cooper, Steve Hutchinson, Cory Sparks, Dave Just, Tyler Graves, Paul Habeck

Shuttleworth’s ‘Seals the Deal’ Racing Bonus: Danny Varin ($50.00)

Casey’s Truck Salvage ‘Salvage of the Night’: Dane Lorenc


Stampede Steakhouse ‘Final Finisher’: Steve Hutchinson 

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact