Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Jun 12, 2014 12:36 PM EDT

Patriot Sprint Tour Makes Debut At The Big Half Mile Whitcomb Memorial To Pay $2,571 To Win

Print this.

Last Years Whitcomb Memorial Winner, Pat Cannon

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will honor the memory of sprint car driver Joe Whitcomb with the 11th annual running of the Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 358-360 sprint cars at 7:30 p.m. this Saturday, June 14, sanctioned by the Patriot Sprint Tour.  The super late models and pro stocks will also be on the racing card. Track gates will open at 5 p.m.


The 30-lap sprint car feature, a tribute to honor the late open wheel racer from Millersburg who succumbed to injuries sustained in a sprint car racing accident at the track on June 21, 2003, will pay $2,571 to win and $225 to start.  Time trials, heat races, and a B-main will be the qualifying format for the special event.  


Patriot Point Leader Jared Zimbardi, (Photo Provided By PST)

The June 14 event will carry the first-ever sanction by the Patriot 360 sprint car tour based in Sodus, N.Y. Two-time winner Jared Zimbardi of Bradford, Pa., leads the tour standings entering this Saturday’s race at Selinsgrove, which will allow both the Patriot Sprint Tour and Selinsgrove Speedway tire and wing rules. 358 sprint car teams will also be permitted to compete with the Patriot group.


A&A Auto Stores will be the title sponsor of Saturday’s three division show. Returning this season as the 358-360 sprint car point fund sponsor, A&A Auto Stores are located throughout central and north eastern Pennsylvania, including a store just north of the speedway on Routes 11 & 15 in Selinsgrove. Visit to find additional locations.


Defending Whitcomb Memorial winner Pat Cannon of Etters (2013, 2010, 2009) and Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove (2008, 2007, 2006) are the only two three-time winners of the race.

Other previous winners include Nate Snyder of Halifax (2004); Kevin Nagy of East Brunswick, N.J. (2005); and TJ Stutts of Liverpool (2012, 2011).


Whitcomb, a dedicated racer most of his life, began his career in go-karts at the age of seven.  He won hundreds of races in karting and was a three-time national karting champion.  A highlight during his karting career was an appearance on ESPN.


In 2001, Whitcomb became a regular competitor at Selinsgrove in the 358 sprint car, driving his trademark blue and yellow number 71 racer.  That year, Whitcomb became Selinsgrove Speedway’s Sportsman of the Year.


Whitcomb won his first sprint car race at Selinsgrove on June 8, 2002, ending the five-race winning streak of champion Chad Layton of Harrisburg. Whitcomb also won sprint car races at Williams Grove and Bridgeport Speedways during his racing career.


Selinsgrove Raceway Park will present a program of go kart and micro sprint car racing at 7 p.m. Friday, June 13.


For a complete schedule, the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can be reached at 570.374.2999.


Purse for 2014 Joe Whitcomb Memorial for 358-360 Sprint Cars: 1) $2,571 2) $1,300 3) $1,100 4) $1,050 5) $1,000 6) $650 7) $550 8) $500 9) $450 10) $400 11) $350 12) $325 13) $300 14) $275 15) $265 16) $250 17) $240 18) $235 19) $235 20) $235 21-24) $225



Whitcomb Memorial Admission for June 14, 2014: Adults $15; Students (12-17) $10; Kids 11 & Under FREE; Pit Passes $25

Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact