Past and Present News Upcoming Schedule Current Points Photos! Driver Details Rules... Registration Once upon a time... Only the best!

Welcome Patriot Sprint Tour News News Archives
 2016 Archived News Releases
 2015 Archived News Releases
 2014 Archived News Releases
 2013 Archived News Releases
 2012 Archived News Releases
 2011 Archived News Releases

Posted: Aug 28, 2012 03:05 PM EDT

Patriot Sprint Tour American Champion to Be Crowned This Weekend in Pennsylvania

Print this.

Stops at Mercer and Eriez To Round out Pursuit for $10,000


Rich Vleck, ROCHESTER, NY, (August 28, 2012)- A season that kicked off way back in April will come to completion this weekend and with it will be the crowning of a championship title worth $10,000!


In this 10th year of Patriot Sprint Tour competition, the final two races of the inaugural PST America Series will prove to play a major factor in determining the 2012 Championship.  Entering this weekend, seven drivers could still claim the championship, with four having a realistic chance.


Bryan Howland leads the PST America point standings heading into this weekend as he goes after his fifth series title and the $10,000 payout that will accompany it.  An average finish of sixth in the two events will be enough for the Auburn, NY driver, but three drivers are primed to pounce if that does not occur.


Scott Kreutter has moved in to second in the standings, 36 back of Howland, but only two ahead of Tim Kelly.  Tommy Wickham is just 16 points behind Kreutter.  While Kreutter and Wickham are the two with wins this season, Tim Kelly is the only one of the three to ever compete at Mercer.  Kreutter does hold the distinction of being the most recent winner at Eriez.


The first stop will come on Saturday at Mercer Raceway Park for the first PST point-paying event at the beautiful 3/8-mile facility since 2005.  Mercer was the second race to ever host a Patriot event and will play host for the fourth time in the Patriot’s 192nd event.  The PST did sanction an event at MRP earlier this year to support the Auto Racers for Kids Charity Race presented by Bonnell’s Collision and Bonnell’s Auto Sales.  Scott Bonnell’s fine businesses will return this weekend to support the return of 360 action to the Western PA facility.


Mercer could be a great unknown for the teams travelling in from New York and Canada.  Hometown ace Mike Lutz is the only driver to win a PST event there that is expected to be in competition Saturday.  Tim Kelly, Steve Collins, George Suprick, Clint Ide, Gary Edwards and Adam Anderson were all in competition at the June 16 event and will look to build off lessons learned that night to score the $2,000 prize this weekend.  Jared Zimbardi is the only other PST regular that has been at the facility in the last seven years.  Point leader Bryan Howland has two trips to MRP, resulting in 20th and 8th place finishes.


After action concludes Saturday at Mercer, the teams will travel 50 minutes up the road to Eriez Speedway for the final American Race of the year.  Eriez has played host to 10 PST events over the years, and has yet to see a repeat winner.  Five out of the top six drivers in PST points have won at Eriez, with Tommy Wickham racing at Eriez for the first time. With this being the championship night, the top three in points would love to be the first to claim that feat. 


Contenders for breakthrough wins this weekend include Steve Collins, Brandan Warner, Don Adamczyk, Tracy Potter, Jamie Bodo and Dave Wickham.  Rookie Steve Hutchinson and newcomer Clint Ide look to put the wraps on, successful seasons.


A group of Canadian campaigners are also expected and could include the likes of Mitch Brown, Stan Zanchin, Jamie Collard, Keith Dempster and Glenn Styres.


Race teams interested in finding a shop to stop at Sunday Morning to prepare for the Eriez event may do so at Adam Anderson Racing in Meadville, PA.  More information is available at


Patriot History at Mercer

Races: 3

5/17/2003        Mike Lutz

9/18/2004        Dave Ely

6/4/2005          Jamie Martin


Patriot History at Eriez

Races: 10

5/25/2003        Scott Bonnell

6/17/2007        Jared Zimbardi

5/25/2008        John Schuyler

6/22/2008        Chuck Hebing

5/24/2009        Trevor Lewis

9/6/2009          Bryan Howland

5/30/2010        Bubba Broderick

9/5/2010          Tim Kelly

7/3/2011          George Suprick (A-Main Rain-delayed from 5/29)

7/3/2011          Scott Kreutter

o-tab-c}:'�.8`.    Bubba Broderick


9/5/2010          Tim Kelly

7/3/2011          George Suprick (A-Main Rain-delayed from 5/29)

7/3/2011          Scott Kreutter


Back to the Welcome Page Home Follow Us on Twitter Friend Us on Facebook Contact